India vs New Zealand 3rd T20I: India claim series as third T20I ends in a tie due to rain

Following this tie due to DLS method, Team India have bagged the T20I series by 1-0.

In the third T20I match of the India tour of New Zealand 2022, the game was tied due to the DLS method at McLean Park in Napier.

After winning the toss, New Zealand skipper Tim Southee asked India to bowl first. The decision looked for the Kiwis as they batted strongly towards the start of the inning but the Men in Blue were at their best as well to restrict the home team to a low score. The total which was looking to surpass 200 at one point was in the end only 160/10. This was mainly because of some exceptional bowling displays from Mohammad Siraj and Arshdeep Singh.

While chasing Indian team also looked into some trouble as they also kept on losing wickets throughout the minimised inning. Both the openers, Ishan Kishan (10) and Rishabh Pant (11) looked good but couldn’t stay longer. Even in form batter, Suryakumar Yadav (13) got out early. It was Hardik Pandya (30*) who provided some important runs in the middle overs which helped India to secure the series by 1-0 due to the DLS method. The runs were tied which meant the win at Mount Maunganui was more important.

For New Zealand, there were two half-centuries, Devon Conway (59) and Glenn Phillips (54) due to which, the team managed to reach a respectable score. While the opening batter played a stable knock, Phillips, on the other hand, was mainly attacking throughout the inning. The wicketkeeper-batter smashed five fours and three sixes to give New Zealand bowlers decent runs to defend.

Mohammad Siraj was at his best today at McLean Park as he acquired four massive wickets. In his quota of four overs, he just gave away 17 runs. With him, Arshdeep Singh also claimed four wickets towards the end of the first inning. Furthermore, Harshal Patel as well got one wicket.

For New Zealand, captain Tim Southee bowled well in the second innings and managed to pick up two wickets. Along with him, one wicket each was also plucked by Adam Milne and Ish Sodhi.

Mohammad Siraj was adjudged Man of the Match for his electrifying bowling show. Following this tie due to DLS method, Team India have bagged the T20I series by 1-0.


New Zealand: 160/10, Overs 19.4, Devon Conway 59, Mohammad Siraj 4/17

India: 75/4, Overs 9, Hardik Pandya 30*, Tim Southee 2/27

Related Articles

Latest Articles