India vs New Zealand 2022 3rd ODI: Rain rules out 3rd ODI, NZ seal the series

Following this result, New Zealand have won the three match ODI series against India.

In the third ODI match of the India tour of New Zealand 2022, the game was abandoned due to rain at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

After winning the toss, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson opted to field first. The decision was quite good as the Kiwis successfully bowled out Indian batters in just 47.3 overs. Adam Milne and Daryl Mitchell were at their best today which helped the Blackcaps to restrict the Men in Blue to just 219/10.

While chasing, although the target was easily achievable, it was the rain gods which helped the visitors. Both the openers, Finn Allen (57) and Devon Conway (38*) batted well throughout the powerplay and beyond. The duo scored 97 runs together for the first wicket partnership until unfortunately, the half-century had to depart just before the rain gods could arrive. In his innings of a half-century, the batter smashed eight fours and one six at a strike rate of 105.56.

In the first innings, captain Shikhar Dhawan (28) started off well but couldn’t stay longer at the crease. It was Shreyas Iyer (49) who once again showed his touch and played a positive knock. Towards the end of the inning, Washington Sundar (51) took the Men in Blue towards a respectable score of 219/10. The southpaw batter played with tailenders and did a magnificent job to give Indian bowlers something to defend.

Daryl Mitchell and Adam Milne were the two bowlers who dismantled the whole Indian batting lineup. Both the bowlers got three wickets each, while veteran Tim Southee plucked two. Along with them, one wicket each was also claimed by Lockie Ferguson and Mitchell Santner.

For India, while defending in the second innings, only Umran Malik was successful to pick a wicket.

Tom Latham was awarded the man of the series. Following this result, New Zealand have won the three match ODI series against India.


India: 219/10, Overs 47.3, Washington Sundar 51, Daryl Mitchell 3/25

New Zealand: 104/1, Overs 18, Finn Allen 57, Umran Malik 1/31

Related Articles

Latest Articles