India vs England 2022 3rd T20I: England avoid whitewash at home, secure final T20I

England finally managed to get a win against India but bit too late as India already won the T20I series.

In the third T20I of India tour of England 2022, England beat India by 17 runs at Trent Bridge in Nottingham.

Jos Buttler won the toss and this time elected to bat first. The home team started off well in the powerplay with both the openers, Jason Roy (27) and Buttler (18) scoring boundaries for fun. It was then Dawid Malan (77) who looked in great form as he smashed a brilliant half-century. The southpaw hit six fours and five sixes in his inning which ensured India chase a mammoth score in the second innings. Liam Livingstone (42*) also hammered bowlers all around the park to take England to a massive score of 215/7 in 20 overs. Not to forget Harry Brook’s (19) and Chris Jordan’s (11) crucial contributions towards the end, which helped England win by a narrow margin.

India looked like a completely different team than the one that dominated the Englishmen in the first two games. While chasing, India did not get a decent start as they lost Rohit Sharma (11) and Rishabh Pant cheaply. Suryakumar Yadav (117) then immediately began to bat from fourth gear and scored a brilliant century. The Mumbai-based batsman smashed 14 fours and six sixes which helped India to get close to the target. On the other hand, India continued to lose wickets, and the Men in Blue eventually fell short of 17 runs.

Reece Topley bagged three wickets in his quota of four overs. David Willey and Chris Jordan also plucked two wickets each. Along with them, one wicket each was also taken by Moeen Ali and Richard Gleeson.

For India, Harshal Patel along with Ravi Bishnoi acquired two wickets. Umran Malik and Avesh Khan also managed to get one wicket each.

Reece Topley was adjudged Man of the Match for his amazing bowling show. England finally managed to get a win against India but bit too late as India already won the T20I series.


England: 215/7, Overs 20, Dawid Malan 77, Ravi Bishnoi 2/30

India: 198/9, Overs 20, Suryakumar Yadav 117, Reece Topley 3/22

Related Articles

Latest Articles