India vs Bangladesh 2022 2nd ODI: Bangladesh claim yet another close encounter to seal the series

With this win, Bangladesh have secured the three-match ODI series.

In the second ODI match of the India tour of Bangladesh 2022, Bangladesh defeated India by five runs at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Bangladeshi skipper Litton Das won the toss and opted to bat first. At first, it looked like the decision would backfire as the team lost six wickets for just 69 runs. No batter could perform up to expectations for the home team as they all wasted their wicket easily to the Indian attackers. Anamul Haque (11), Najmul Hossain Shanto (21) and Mushfiqur Rahim (12) were the only batters from the top order to get into two-digit marks. It was then Mahmudullah (77) who came forward and brought Bangladesh out of crisis to help them reach a respectable score. Along with him, batting at number eight Mehidy Hasan Miraz (100*) also played a fabulous knock to take the Bangla tigers to a total of 271/7 in 50 overs. The duo stitched 146 runs together in which the veteran batter Mahmudullah smashed seven boundaries. On the other hand, Miraz, who is in form of his life, hammered eight fours and four sixes towards the end of the innings at the strike rate of 120.48.

For India, it was a similar kind of situation at the start as even they lost a few wickets upfronts. Virat Kohli (5), who opened the innings due to Rohit Sharma’s thumb injury, played onto the stumps in the second over itself. It was Shreyas Iyer (82), who gave India another chance in the match to reach the winning line. Iyer also got a valiant partnership with Axar Patel (56) but it did not ensure India’s victory. In the end, Rohit Sharma (51) hammered a quick-fire fifty to take India towards the victory line. The Indian skipper roared like an injured lion which almost took the game away from the home team. India lost by a mere five runs in the end but it was a brave performance by team India as well.

Ebadot Hossain was once again at his best as he managed to pluck three wickets while defending. Along with him, Shakib Al Hassan and Mehidy Hasan Miraz also grabbed two wickets each. Meanwhile, Mustafizur Rahman also grabbed a wicket. Most importantly, the left-arm fast bowler bowled the all-important final over in which he successfully defended 20 runs.

For India, Washington Sundar picked three wickets. With him, two wickets were also taken by Mohammad Siraj and Umran Malik.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz was adjudged Man of the Match for his electrifying all-round performance. With this win, Bangladesh have secured the three-match ODI series.


Bangladesh: 271/7, Overs 50, Mehidy Hasan Miraz 100*, Washington Sundar 3/37

India: 266/9, Overs 50, Shreyas Iyer 82, Ebadot Hossain 3/45

Related Articles

Latest Articles