India vs Australia 2022 1st T20I: Australia chase well to acquire 1-0 lead

With this victory, Australia takes the series lead by 1-0.

In the first T20I match of the Australia tour of India 2022, Australia defeated India by four wickets at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali.

Australian captain Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bowl first. At first, the Aussies might have thought that the decision could backfire but it was handled well in the second innings. However, with the bowl as well, the likes of Nathan Ellis and Josh Hazelwood were tremendous as they restricted India well early on in the first innings.

While chasing, both the openers, Finch (22) and Cameron Green (61), started well and gave a flying start which was later on carried by Steven Smith’s (35) quick-fire knock. Green hammered eight fours and four sixes which laid the perfect foundation. These fierce knocks by Australian batters made the chase look easy until, in the middle overs, the visitors lost too many wickets which gave away the momentum. In the end, Mathew Wade (45) took control of the inning and smashed six fours and two sixes which aided Australia to take the series lead.

For India, the only positive thing was KL Rahul‘s (55) back to form. Suryakumar Yadav (46) also played amazingly well but when it mattered the most only one guy stood up, Hardik Pandya (71*). Although runs were looking decent on the board, it was still dull as the pitch was more suiting the batters. To take India’s score to next level, Pandya hammered seven fours and five sixes at the strike rate of 236.67 which helped the home team reach 208/6 in 20 overs.

Nathan Ellis plucked three massive wickets in the first innings. Along with him, two wickets were also taken by Hazelwood. Green also picked one wicket.

On the other hand, Axar Patel claimed three wickets. Making his return to T20 cricket, Umesh Yadav also had two wickets to his name. Yuzvendra Chahal got one wicket too.

Cameron Green was adjudged Man of the Match for his match-winning knock. With this victory, Australia takes the series lead by 1-0.


India: 208/6, Overs 20, KL Rahul 55, Nathan Ellis 3/30

Australia: 211/6, Overs 19.2, Cameron Green 61, Axar Patel 3/17

Related Articles

Latest Articles