India tour of Zimbabwe 2022 3rd ODI: India whitewash the bilateral series 3-0

With this win, the Men in Blue have whitewashed Zimbabwe and claimed the ODI series by 3-0.

In the third and final ODI match of India’s tour of Zimbabwe 2022, India beat Zimbabwe by 13 runs at the Harare Sports Club in Harare.

KL Rahul won the toss and elected to bat first for the first time in the series. Both the openers batted well and gave India a strong start. Shikhar Dhawan (40) and KL Rahul (30) came out to bat with intend and it didn’t went wrong. After a brilliant start to the inning, it was inform Shubman Gill (130) who smashed an amazing century with 15 fours and one six. The young 22-year-old broke Sachin Tendulkar’s record for highest Indian run scorer in a match in Zimbabwe by an Indian. Following this huge knock, even Ishan Kishan (50) hammered a half century which included six fours. After few more contributions from the tailenders, the Men in Blue had massive score of 289/8 on the board.

In the second inning, even Zimbabwe had the intend to chase the total as the batsmen were too miser to give away their wickets. Sikandar Raza (115) hammered a huge century which consisted of nine fours and three sixes. Along with him, Sean Williams (45) scored good amount of runs but that was it from the Zimbabwe batsmen. As no other batter stayed in the middle for long, it was clear that India would easily defeat the home team.

Three wickets were taken by Avesh Khan in just 9.3 overs and with him, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar grabbed two wickets each. Even Shardul Thakur picked one wicket while defending the score.

It was a good day for Zimbabwe with the ball as they struck eight wickets in the first inning. Brad Evans was at his best tonight as he claimed a fifer. Luke Jongwe and Victor Nyauchi also grabbed one wicket each.

Shubman Gill was awarded Man of the Match for his outstanding century at the Harare Sports Club. With this win, the Men in Blue have whitewashed Zimbabwe and claimed the ODI series by 3-0.


India: 289/8, Overs 50, Shubman Gill 130, Brad Evans 5/54

Zimbabwe: 276/10, Overs 49.3, Sikandar Raza 115, Avesh Khan 3/66

Related Articles

Latest Articles