ICC announces prize money for World Test Championship Final

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed the prize money for the much-anticipated ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and New Zealand. The winner will receive a payment of $1.6 million as well as the ICC Test Championship Mace. The inaugural World Test Championship began on August 1st, 2019. After multiple series in the last two years, India and New Zealand earned a place in the final by finishing first and second in the points table, respectively.

Along with winners, the runners-up will receive $800,000 for coming second in the nine-team competition, which was held over a nearly two-year period in order to give significance to Test cricket and award the first recognised global champions in the game’s longest format.

The team that finishes third in the ICC World Test Championship Standings will receive $450,000 in prize money. The fourth-place team will receive $350,000, the fifth-place team will receive $200,000, and the remaining four teams will each receive $100,000.

The Test Mace would now be awarded to the WTC winners. It was previously awarded to the team that finished first in the ICC Men’s Test Rankings at the end of the year. If the final is a draw or a tie, the first and second-place winners will split the prize money and share ownership of the Mace for the duration of their reign as winners.

Meanwhile, ICC has confirmed a host of broadcasters across different continents for the WTC final. The international governing body of cricket also confirmed Shyam Steel as a key partner for the final between India and New Zealand. The Kiwis come into the game after a terrific 1-0 win against England last week. On the other hand, India has been playing intra-squad games to prepare for the big game. India has not lately enjoyed a good record against New Zealand away from home, so it is going to be a challenging final for Virat Kohli’s men.

Related Articles

Latest Articles