ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 USA vs India: Arshdeep, Suryakumar help India clinch USA test; enter Super Eights stage

Arshdeep Singh was adjudged Player of the Match for his career-best performance.

In the 25th match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, India beat the USA by seven wickets at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

Team India won the toss and opted to field first. The decision proved accurate, as the visiting squad reduced the host team to 110/8 in 20 overs. Major credit goes to Arshdeep Singh and Hardik Pandya, who took wickets at regular intervals while also giving quite less amount of runs.

In the chase, the unit once again lost Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma at the start of the innings. Rishabh Pant (18) got some runs under his belt but even he couldn’t bat long enough. It was Suryakumar Yadav‘s (50*) and Shivam Dube‘s (31*) partnership, which helped India cruise through the overs and reach the target quite comfortably in just 18.2 overs. Both batters were calm and composed with shot selection and while doing so they both also added 72 runs together for the fourth wicket partnership.

After losing an early wicket, Stevan Taylor (24) gave the side a positive start and from the other end, Aaron Jones (11) also failed to bat deep after getting a decent start. Nitish Kumar (27) was the most run-getter, hitting two fours and a six. Towards the end, Corey Anderson (15), Harmeet Singh (10) and Shadley Van Schalkwyk (11*) also added valuable runs to get to a decent score. 

Arshdeep Singh was the star performer for the Indian side, as he grabbed four massive wickets and just gave nine runs. Be it at the start of the innings or the end, the bowler successfully restricted and troubled the US batters. Along with him, Hardik Pandya also took two wickets, while one was clinched by Axar Patel

Saurabh Netravalkar acquired two wickets in his quota of four overs, while Ali Khan also scalped one wicket. 

Arshdeep Singh was adjudged Player of the Match for his career-best performance. With this result, India have qualified for the Super Eight stage.


USA: 110/8, Overs 20, Nitish Kumar 27, Arshdeep Singh 4/9

India: 111/3, Overs 18.2, Suryakumar Yadav 50, Saurabh Netravalkar 2/18

Related Articles

Latest Articles