ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 India vs Ireland: Men in Blue clinch WC opener with ease against Ireland

With this win, India's WC 2024 campaign is off to a strong start and will now face Pakistan on June 9.

In the eighth match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, India defeated Ireland by eight wickets at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

India won the toss and opted to field first. The decision proved correct, as the Men in Blue began intimidating Irish players from the first ball. From Arshdeep Singh‘s first spell to Hardik Pandya‘s middle overs, everything worked in the Indian team’s favour. Jasprit Bumrah‘s economy was also impressive, allowing only six runs in three overs. Overall, the unit managed to clean up Ireland for just 96 runs.

In the chase, Rohit Sharma (52) and Virat Kohli opened the innings in what appeared to be a captivating decision by the management. Though Virat lost his wicket early, skipper Rohit smashed a well-earned fifty, which included four fours and three sixes. Along with him, Rishabh Pant (36*) also played a smashing knock, hitting three fours and two sixes. Both batters hit 54 runs together for the second wicket partnership, which aided the side clinch the win in just 12.2 overs.

In the first innings with the bat, almost every batter had a single-digit score to his name, apart from Gareth Delany (26), Curtis Campher (12), Lorcan Tucker (10) and Joshua Little (14). The side kept on losing wickets, which made it impossible for them to even cross the 100-run mark.

Arshdeep Singh’s opening spell was crucial, as he plucked two wickets in his second over. Jasprit Bumrah also took two wickets, while Hardik Pandya scalped three wickets in the middle overs. Mohammed Siraj and Axar Patel also managed to claim one wicket each. 

For Ireland with the ball, Mark Adair and Benjamin White secured one wicket each. 

Jasprit Bumrah was awarded Player of the Match for his outstanding bowling show. With this win, India’s WC 2024 campaign is off to a strong start and will now face Pakistan on June 9.


Ireland: 96/10, Overs 16, Gareth Delany 26, Hardik Pandya 3/27

India: 97/2, Overs 12.2, Rohit Sharma 52, Benjamin White 1/6

Related Articles

Latest Articles