ICC Awards: Virat Kohli and Elyse Perry dominate individual awards

The International Cricket Council’s decade awards were dominated by Virat Kohli and Elyse Perry on December 28. Both players managed to bag multiple awards, while MS Dhoni was the recipient of the spirit of the cricket award.

Perry was awarded the ODI, T20, and Player of the decade award by ICC. The Australian cricketer has been one of the best players in women’s cricket in the past decade. She has excelled across all formats. Her ability to change games with bat and bowl helped him to clinch awards in different categories. She has managed to win five ICC titles with Australia that includes one 50 over World Cup and four T-20 World Cups.

Meanwhile, Kohli managed to bag the ODI player of the decade and Sir Garfield Sobers player of the decade awards. The Indian captain has been consistent for India in the last decade, averaging more than 50 across three formats. He was also part of the Indian team that won the World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013.

Steve Smith was rewarded for his remarkable consistency in test cricket by the ICC test player of the decade award. The Australian batsman averages more than 60 in the longest format of cricket. Rashid Khan managed to beat various top players for the T-20 player of the decade award. Khan has been a consistent performer for Afghanistan and franchises across the globe.

Before the individual awards, ICC had released teams across all formats. Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, MS Dhoni, and Ravichandran Ashwin represented India across various formats in the men’s team of the decade. For the women’s teams, India was represented by Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Poonam Yadav, and Harmanpreet Kaur.

Related Articles

Latest Articles