Everything you need to know about FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

For the very first time, the World Cup is being hosted in the Arab world.

The FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 is all set to commence tonight i.e. November 20 with home team Qatar taking on Ecuador at 9:30 pm IST. The event’s final will take place on December 18 which is also Qatar’s National Day.

The 2022 WC in Qatar is the 22nd edition of FIFA‘s quadrennial competition. For the very first time, the World Cup is being hosted in the Arab world. The event is also the second World Cup organized exclusively in Asia, following the championship in South Korea and Japan in 2002.

Due to Qatar’s extreme summer heat and humidity, this World Cup is being hosted in the winter, making it the first event not to be scheduled in May, June, or July and to actually occur in the northern autumn. It will also be played in a shorter time span of 29 days.

The final will be held on December 18 at the Lusail stadium, the largest of the eight arenas that will be used for the World Cup.

A total of 32 teams will be competing for the most prestigious award in international football. The 32 teams are split into eight groups, each with four teams. The groups are listed below.

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales
Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia
Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan
Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

TV and Streaming details:

The competition will be televised on the Reliance-backed Viacom18 Sports’, Sports18. In addition, all games will also be live-streamed on JioCinema, the network’s application.

Related Articles

Latest Articles