Everything you need to know about Durand Cup 2022

The 131st edition of the Durand Cup will feature 20 teams.

The oldest Asian football tournament, Durand Cup is all set to commence its 131st edition on August 16 wherein Mohammedan SC will take on defending champions FC Goa at the Salt Lake Stadium, Kolkata in the season opener.

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has already recognised the championship as an official cup event taking place at the beginning of the season. This move has been placed in order to boost the organisers to broaden the format to 20 teams and add two more venues (Guwahati and Imphal) in a multi-city setup.

The Durand Cup will feature 20 teams this year. This time around, 11 Indian Super League (ISL) clubs will compete. Aside from them, five I-League teams and four service teams will compete in the competition this year.

TV and Streaming details:

The third oldest tournament in the world will be telecast live on Viacom18‘s new sports channel, Sports18. To be more precise, Sports18 1 SD & HD and Sports18 Khel will feature the iconic Durand Cup.

Football enthusiasts can also catch the live action on the OTT platform, Voot.

Related Articles

Latest Articles