Everything to know about the first-ever season of SA20

The season opener will be played between MI Cape Town and Paarl Royals at Newlands, Cape Town at 9 PM IST.

After months of preparation and anticipation, Betway SA20 is also set to make its debut on Tuesday, January 10, 2023.

The inaugural edition of South Africa’s prime domestic T20 competition will become an interesting addition to the T20 competitions happening around the world. Talented globally renowned cricketers like Jos Buttler, Rashid Khan, and Kagiso Rabada will be pinned against each other to become the first-ever champions of the SA20. The South African great, Greame Smith was named the League Commissioner.


The owners of the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises displayed some grave interest in the competition and acquired all six teams of the competition. MI Cape Town, Paarl Royals, Joburg Super Kings, Sunrisers Eastern Cape, Pretoria Capitals and Durban’s Super Giants are the six teams that will collide in the 33-match maiden season of SA20. Rashid Khan (MICT), David Miller (PR), Faf du Plessis (JSK), Quinton de Kock (DSG), Aiden Markram (SEC), and Wayne Parnell (PC) are captains of their respective teams in the upcoming season.

Matches and Timings:

The season opener will be played between MI Cape Town and Paarl Royals at Newlands, Cape Town at 9 PM IST. During doubleheaders, the first match will take place at 5 PM IST. Timings are quite suitable for cricket fans in India too. All teams will play each other twice in a round-robin format. The knockout stage will start on Wednesday, February 8, 2023, and it will consist of two semi-finals and one final. The final frontier of the competition is scheduled for Saturday, February 11 at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

Where to watch:

The Indian media broadcasting baron, Viacom18 has acquired exclusive 10-year rights to SA20. The competition can be viewed by cricket enthusiasts in India on Colors Tamil, the Tamil entertainment channel by Viacom18. Fans can also enjoy the live coverage with Tamil commentary.

Related Articles

Latest Articles