Everything to know about the first-ever edition of Tata Women’s Premier League

Cricket enthusiasts can enjoy WPL on the Sports18 network and JioCinema.

The highly anticipated inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) is all set to kick off tomorrow i.e. Saturday, March 4. This tournament is said to bring a new revolution in women’s cricket, which can provide an opportunity for the upcoming talents to play this game at the utmost level alongside some of the best cricketers in the world. 

The star-studded tournament consists of players like Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Ellyse Perry, Beth Mooney, Meg Lanning, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sophie Devine, Heather Knight, and many more.  

This Indian domestic women’s T20 tournament will be graced by a beautiful opening ceremony that will feature artists like Kriti Sanon, Kiara Advani, and AP Dhillon.


The tournament will have 22 games including a playoff and the final which is to be played on March 24. The season will kick off with the opening encounter between Mumbai Indians (MI) and Gujarat Giants (GG). The afternoon matches will start at 3:30 PM IST and the evening matches will begin at 7:30 PM IST.


Five teams are competing in this tournament and three of them already have franchises in the Indian Premier League (IPL) – Delhi Capitals (DC), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and MI. The other new entrants in the lists are GG and UP Warriorz (UPW). 


All the games of WPL will be played in Mumbai – Brabourne Stadium and Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy. 

Where to Watch: 

The Indian media broadcasting baron, Viacom18 has bagged the media broadcasting rights of the tournament for the next five years. Cricket enthusiasts can enjoy all the sporting action on the Sports18 network and the OTT platform, JioCinema  

Related Articles

Latest Articles