Everything to know about Copa America 2024

This year's Copa América boasts a historic expansion with all ten CONMEBOL members along with six guest teams from CONCACAF.

The 48th edition of the Copa America, the prestigious South America quadrennial men’s soccer championship, takes on a pan-American flavour in 2024. Held in the United States, co-organized by CONCACAF (the North and Central American Confederation), the tournament features 16 teams vying for the coveted title.

This year’s Copa América boasts a historic expansion. All ten CONMEBOL members participate, joined by six guest teams from CONCACAF who qualified through the 2023-24 Nations League. This creates a unique opportunity to witness South American powerhouses clash with their North and Central American counterparts.

Copa America 2024 groups and teams

Group AArgentina (Defending champions)PeruChileCanada
Group BMexicoEcuadorVenezuelaJamaica
Group CUnited States (Host nation)UruguayPanamaBolivia
Group DBrazilColombiaParaguayCosta Rica

The 16 teams are divided into four groups. The top two teams from each group advance to the single-elimination knockout rounds. The format progresses through quarterfinals, semifinals, and a final championship match. Drawn games will be decided by extra time and penalties if necessary.

The winner will even face off against the UEFA EURO 2024 champion in the 2025 CONMEBOL–UEFA Cup of Champions, adding another layer of prestige.

The tournament kicks off on June 21 in India with Argentina, the reigning champions, taking on debutants Canada. The opening match takes place at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. A total of 32 games will be played across 14 stunning stadiums throughout the United States, showcasing the beautiful game from coast to coast.

The official mascot, CAPITÁN the eagle, embodies the exciting fusion of South American passion and the vibrant American atmosphere. The official match ball, Puma Cumbre, draws inspiration from the mountain range that unites the Americas. Its design reflects the continent’s shape and features high-end technology for optimal performance.

Football fans can expect a dazzling display of talent. From Lionel Messi‘s legendary presence to Vinicius Jr.‘s rising stardom and established stars like Federico Valverde, Alphonso Davies, Christian Pulisic, and Luis Diaz, the tournament promises a showcase of world-class football.

While welcoming the next generation of stars, Copa America might also witness the final hurrah of some global icons. Veterans like Angel Di Maria, Luis Suarez, and Alexis Sanchez could be making their last appearances on this grand stage, adding a poignant touch to the competition.

Related Articles

Latest Articles