EuroLeague bans Russian teams for the upcoming season

In the latest edition of the tournament, three out of 18 teams were Russian.

EuroLeague Basketball recently announced that all Russian teams will be prohibited from participating in the upcoming edition of EuroLeague.

The EuroLeague is a European professional basketball competition. It is abbreviated as Turkish Airlines EuroLeague for its sponsorship with the airlines. The league is organized by EuroLeague Basketball.

In the latest edition of the tournament, three out of 18 teams were Russian. The teams were CSKA Moscow, UNICS Kazan and Zenit St. Petersburg. They were banned following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February.

Apart from EuroLeague, many other sporting tournaments have put restrictions on players and teams associated with Russia. The renowned companies from Russia that teamed up with sports leagues around the globe also faced the aftermath of the invasion of Ukraine. The football club, Chelsea was imposed with several restrictions, as their previous owner Roman Abramovich allegedly had a connection with Russian President Vladimir Putin. The Blues faced severe sponsorship cut-offs. Also, Zenit was banned from participating in the UEFA Champions League 2021/22.

EuroLeague stated, “Executive Board members also considered that protecting the integrity and regularity of the competition and the safety of all stakeholders is the ultimate priority and should not be put at risk.”

Related Articles

Latest Articles