BCCI announces squads and schedule for Women’s T20 Challenge

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced squads for the Women’s T20 Challenge. The women’s tournament is scheduled to be held from November 4 to November 9 in UAE. Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, and Mithali Raj will captain Supernovas, Trailblazers, and Velocity, respectively. All the matches are likely to be played at the Sharjah Stadium.

In a four-game tournament, leading cricketers from England, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Bangladesh will be involved. This is the second season of the T20 Challenge. BCCI has organized the tournament to further support and encourage women’s cricket in India.

The tournament is an ideal platform for domestic young talents that are looking to break into the Senior Indian National team. However, the Indian players have been asked to assemble in Mumbai and complete their quarantine before departing for UAE

After arriving in Mumbai from various parts of the country on October 18, the players will be tested multiple times and put into quarantine for more than a week. The players will further have to quarantine for six days after reaching the UAE.

The fixtures for the tournament are as follows:

04/11/2020 – Supernovas vs Velocity: 7.30 pm
05/11/2020 – Velocity vs Trailblazers: 3.30 pm
07/11/2020 – Trailblazers vs Supernovas: 7.30 pm
09/11/2020 – FINAL: 7.30 pm

Related Articles

Latest Articles