Australia tour of India 2023 5th T20I: India secure victory in a close encounter, win series by 4-1

With this win, the T20I series concludes with India winning by 4-1.

In the fifth and final match of the bilateral series, India beat Australia by six runs at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. 

Australia once again won the toss and opted to field first. The Indian side had a decent but shaky start to their innings as the team lost two wickets in the powerplay. Though Yashasvi Jaiswal (21) gave India a positive start, the team lacked scoring ability throughout the inning. Shreyas Iyer (53) was the only batter who showcased his brilliance with the bat as he scored a magnificent half-century. The right-handed batter played throughout the innings, in which he hit five fours and two sixes and played at a strike rate of 143. Jitesh Sharma (24) also contributed a handy knock, while Axar Patel (31) hammered quick runs towards the end to take India to a decent score of 160.

In the chase, Travis Head (28) began the innings for the Aussies in fine form as he struck five fours and one six. Ben McDermott (54) was the top scorer for the visitors tonight, as he scored an impressive fifty. The likes of Tim David (17), Matthew Short (16), and Matthew Wade (22) also contributed, but it wasn’t enough to secure the win. 

Although Mukesh Kumar grabbed three wickets, it was Axar Patel who won it for India with the ball. The bowling all-rounder gave away just 14 runs in his quota of four overs and took one wicket. Two wickets each were also picked by Arshdeep Singh and Ravi Bishnoi

For Australia with the ball, Ben Dwarshuis and Jason Behrendorff scalped two wickets each. Along with them, one wicket each was taken by Aaron Hardie, Nathan Ellis, and Tanveer Sangha.

Axar Patel was adjudged Player of the Match for his outstanding bowling spell and for fireworks with the bat. With this win, the T20I series concludes with India winning by 4-1.


India: 160/8, Overs 20, Shreyas Iyer 53, Ben Dwarshuis 2/30

Australia: 154/8, Overs 20, Ben McDermott 54, Mukesh Kumar 2/29

Related Articles

Latest Articles