A-League signs Liberty as naming rights sponsor

This deal brings in a new era for Australian football.

The A-League has announced the signing of the non-bank lender Liberty as the naming rights sponsor of Australia’s leading women’s football league, the Liberty A-League Women. The deal has been inked for three years and will kick off from the 2021-22 season, which begins on Friday, December 3.

This new contract will continue within their existing partnership deal with the A-League Men and the television network that telecasts both A-Leagues, Channel Ten.

This contract has been the biggest one for Liberty in sports sponsorship. They previously associated with the Melbourne Renegades in both, the women’s and men’s Big Bash League, and with Essendon in the AFLW.

This deal brings in a new era for Australian football as, before Liberty, they had Hyundai and Westfield as the naming rights sponsors for the men’s and women’s competitions.

Talking about the partnership, A-Leagues managing director Danny Townsend stated, “We have seen a significantly expanding interest in women’s football – from grassroots through to the Matildas. By investing in women’s professional football through Liberty A-League, we offer more pathways for emerging players, ensuring our world-class competition is truly sustainable.”

Liberty CEO James Boyle, said, “We’ve demonstrated our free-thinking approach by helping Australians and New Zealanders from all walks of life. With participating teams across Australia and New Zealand, the A-Leagues share our culture of diversity and our pioneering spirit.”

“The competition has taken significant strides towards creating a more inclusive sport. Like Liberty, the leagues are passionate about fostering gender equality on and off the field.”

 “Through the Liberty A-League, we reaffirm our support for women in professional sport. Just as we have helped to raise the profile of women’s cricket in the Big Bash League (WBBL), we’re passionate about helping to provide the platform women’s football deserves.”

As stated before, the A-League Women will commence from December 3 with Wellington taking on Western Sydney in the opening clash of the season.

Related Articles

Latest Articles