2021–22 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship: Sponsors Watch

The iconic organisation has already completed seven successful seasons and kickstarted its eighth edition on January 28, 2022.

With the technological revolution in the previous decade, humans have been severely affected by global environmental problems. One of the fastest-growing motorsport series of the world, Formula E has been the ambassador of environmental sustainability. The all-electric motorsport racing league has been working for the last 10 plus years to contribute to the preservation of the environment.

Formula E was founded by Alejandro Agag and FIA President Jean Todt in 2011. The league has attained the World Championship status in the 2020/21 season. With 12 racing teams and 24 drivers on the circuit, the championship has already completed seven successful seasons and kickstarted its eighth edition on January 28, 2022.

ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is a 16–race series held at different racing courses in prominent cities. The thrilling competition began at Diriyah, Saudi Arabia and will be further hosted by Rome, Monaco, Berlin, London and New York.

Formula E has held some smart partnerships ahead of its 2022 season for brand marketing and the enhancement of its sponsorship portfolio.

The racing league signed a partnership extension with the e-commerce giant, DHL. The delivery service firm continues to be the Official Logistics Partner of the championship for the 2022 season. Both organizations are working together to develop a multi-modal transport approach that can reduce CO2 emissions. 

Followed by this, Formula E penned down a multi-year sponsorship deal with the digital asset custody brand, The trading solutions provider became the Official Digital Asset Services Partner of the tournament.

The league renewed its deal with the French broadcaster, La Chain L’Equipe to deliver exclusive coverage of the competition. They also distributed media rights to Australia’s famous media unit, Nine Entertainment to air the tournament for racing fans across Australia through the channels of Nine Network and Stan Sport.

Lastly, Formula E made a groundbreaking deal with television agency, Channel 4 by assigning it the free-to-air rights of the 2022 season. With these signings, the league expanded its competition’s exposure throughout the globe and gave its fans a memorable viewing experience.

From India, Mahindra Racing is the only franchise that competes at the Formula E Championship and drives the spirit of environmental sustainability in India. The franchise is the greenest racing brand in the entire tournament with FIA Environmental Accreditation Three-Star rating and Net Zero Carbon footprint certification. Mahindra Racing recently partnered with Tech Mahindra to further enhance its operations and functions through digital transformation.

Formula E has recently also signed a Letter of Intent with the State of Telangana to evaluate the viability of hosting an E-Prix in the city of Hyderabad. With this deal, India will work with the motorsport organisation to promote ecological growth and provide Indians with a thrilling racing experience.

Currently, the Monaco-based racing team, Venturi Racing tops the leaderboard with their driver Edoardo Mortara who leads in the player rankings. Nyck de Vries of the second place Mercedes-EQ Formula E Team came victorious in the Diriyah E-Prix.

The racing league has been one of the flag bearers of ecological advancement in the world and has also emerged as a strong commercial brand in the sports business industry.

Related Articles

Latest Articles